To what degree would you say that learning C/C++ has helped you in terms of understanding Linux?

Tittle basically says it all. I'm personally an extreme novice at C, but I already feel as though it has helped my understanding of Linux and how its commands actually work behind the scenes. I'm a person which loves to learn how things really work, I can't really accept that "that's just how it works" so C has been pretty fun in terms of that aspect as well. What I love about C is the same thing that I love about maths, there's very little wiggle room for vague answers as to how stuff functions. Going from Bash to C has been like going from driving an automatic to driving a manual. Well to make a better analogy it's like going from driving an automatic to building a car from scratch.

Some decades ago I studied the Kernighan/Ritchie "The C programming language"
I cannot say I fell in love with C; it was rather a hacking, often a mistake produced a segmentation fault.
On the other hand I was excited how close it is to the machine's architecture, making it blazing fast and the preferred language when writing a kernel.
As a side effect, I got to love the Unix philosophy: keep things simple and universal.
This philosophy is sometimes neglected in Linux (and Opensource) development; things became too specialized and have too many dependencies.

1 Like

Hello,

An interesting question ! In my case, perhaps surprisingly, I never formally learned C, or C++. When I started University, the Computing Science department in question had just changed that year from teaching Pascal to 1st and 2nd year students and C++ from 3rd year onwards, to starting with Ada for the first two years, and then finishing up with Java in the final years. So C and C++ were never covered, and in my career I never had the need to actually learn them, as I went into systems administration rather than software development.