Prize of being an Admin

Was wondering if anyone has come across any situation where you do your best to help users and in return you get a nice escalation from top level management!

Here's my story:

One fine morning, I was sitting idle, doing next to nothing, I got an alert from helpdesk people about a problem with an application running on a high-priority AIX LPAR (sorry for not being specific as I am not allowed to disclose the details). This application is actually used heavily by the bio-tech research fellows. The application was crashing frequently. Upon checking in-depth, I found there's nothing wrong from the OS stand point. I also found the problem was caused by one rouge wrapper script. But as a server admin, I had nothing to do with that officially. In the mean time, I had to speak to the manager of the research team and had to try my best to make her understand where the actual problem was. I assured her that I would contact the responsible application admin team.

Followed by that, I tried contacting that application admin team (which is a different IT services vendor than my company). I did not get any solid reply from them nor any definite timeline when they would be able to look into the problem.

I ended my shift. Still no reply from the application team. I came home. Gave it a lot of thought whether I should modify the script by myself. I accessed the server from home, spent a sleepless night understanding how everything of that application was wired.

Next morning, I went to office, saw my E-mail inbox hoping that the app team might have responded. But no! So I went ahead, made the changes that I thought should have been done. restarted the application service. Monitored the application for a couple of hours and called up the manager of the research team. She was furious. I politely told what I had done so far and asked her to check if things were fine. And yes, things were fine. But that lady was quite upset about our service.