Nagios Forum

What are the chances of getting a Nagios forum? The community is really lacking for a good place to work issues in Nagios. There just aren't any good places to go that I've found.

Thanks,

Docster

Great idea, but we need more than one person to make a forum successful.

Do you have a large group of people in your community who will discuss Nagios here?

I don't personally have a large following. I'm new to Nagios, but Nagios is very popular and I wouldn't be surprised if many of your users are using it. Maybe you could take a survey? I know it's also popular in Europe.

Thanks,

Docster

That sounds like a good idea, but when you say "forum" you are actually refering to a "subforum" inside ULF right?

Although Nagios Exchange provides plenty of useful scripts and snippets, I agree it lacks a decent (and free) supporting community.

You know Nagios Enterprises has a forum for the community!

Nagios Enterprises would like people to sign up for support contracts. I'm trying to get user based support. But, thanks.

I don't mind starting a Nagios subforum under our IP Networking forum, if Docster is of the opinion, as a Nagios user, that the current Nagios forum is too "hard sell for support contracts".

When I used to use Zabbix I don't recall their forum using the Zabbix user forum to sell support. Nagios is different in their forums?

Just as an idea: instead of an subforum dedicated to Nagios, why not generalize. One subforum for all kinds of monitoring software, be it OPC/OV (whatever HP calls it now), Zabbix, Nagios, Snort, ...

FWIW, mikeo is a user id of one of the Nagios advocates; so I guess he posted in response Docster's request for a Nagios forum here.

Maybe the whole thread is a "set up" since Docster only has three posts to date, all in this thread and there is a reply from one of the Nagios team members promoting their forum?