Use of tabs in programming languages

What programming languages and scripts require the use of tabs?

none afaik

though indentation as a function of the alignment/grouping of program statements is in certain languages.

curious as to why are you asking ?
have you done any research on the subject ? ( please share findings if so )

This is not actually true.

Golang (Go) uses tabs:

Screen Shot 2022-06-09 at 8.16.45 PM

Reference:

Also, in a Google study, Google engineers found that tabs were more commonly used than spaces in both Go and C:

Screen Shot 2022-06-09 at 8.18.58 PM

Reference:

Tabs are "required" in Go, per Go specs (but since I am not a Go developer,I have no idea, really, just from reading)

HTH

Most languages that existed when 80 column cards were in use.
Cobol - columns 1-6 : sequence number, so if you dropped your deck of cards, you could take them to the card sorter and put them back in order.
column 7 continutation character
column 8 labels
column 12 regular statements, must end before column 73.
Fortran V and probably IV, columns 1-4 label
column 6 regular statements
RPG virtually every column has a specific use

See also:

tabs-vs-spaces-hithub

Reference:

The problem with the Github analysis is that no one knows if the editor that was used to create the source code translated tabs to spaces.

The Go / tabs issue is related to the go FMT official requirement. It's not a fluke of an editor.

Regarding GitHub, most developers, by a wide majority use VSC to edit / write code.

VSC does NOT translate tabs to spaces. I don't think any modern developer uses a code editor which automatically translates tabs to spaces or otherwise, except a syntax checker for Go, in a code editor when installed as a plugin because go fmt is used in these plugins for those who choose to install and use it.

Takes me back. I instantly thought "Those are not tabs, they are just fixed-column fields".