/u01 is full as shown is system messages but not on ground

Hi there

i am an oracle DBA having solaris 10. in database alert log I am receiving following messages

Non Critical error ORA-48181 caught while writing to trace file "/u01/app/oracle/diag/rdbms/mygrid/mygrid12/trace/mygrid12_m000_210009.trc"
Error Messages: SVr4 Error: 28 : No space left on device 
writing to the above trace file is disabled for now on 
Error: Direct connection failure with ASM
WARNING:ASM communication error : op 0 state 0x0 (15055)

and in /var/adm/messages.0 showing following

May 20 14:08 xxxx ufs:  [ID 845546 kern.Notice]  NOTICE:alloc:  /u01:  file system full

out put of df -ah is as follwos

/dev/dsk/c0t500xxxxxxd0s4   439G   381G   54G   88%     /u01

all other filesystem have free space shown in df -ah. I can't write all of them

Nowhere is that file system which is full as all file systems are not 100 % full and have sufficient free space

please guide

Regards

Could you either show df -ah for the entire system or for all the /u0N partions.

On UFS filesystems there are two ways a filesystem can be full.

1. No free sectors
  2. No free inodes

Please post the output of:

# df -i

to show inode usage.

applying df -i on bash , saying that unknown option

There is only one /u01 partition which I have shown or may be being beginner I am not understanding you as I don't see any other /u01 . There is only one mount point /u01 which points to the machine hardisk

ok a apply as df -oi /u01 and it shows following

FIlesystem                                                        iused             ifree             %iused           mounted on
/dev/dsk/c0t500xxxxxxd0s4                             34102175     21319009       62%                /u01

Regards

i already did and u can in above post that inode are only 62% used for /u01

So it seems that the filesystem space and inodes are not full so it's likely your Oracle limit on MAX_DUMP_FILE_SIZE is set too low.