Solaris Virtualization

Hello All,

To start with, I am not an expert of solaris and VMs. Unfortunately, I can't find a direct or understandable (at least to me) answer to my question online. So please, excuse me if my question will sound dumb to you. :o

We have 2 remaining solaris 8 servers are on sparc architecture. They cannot be discarded because of some tools that can only run in solaris. Can these solaris 8 servers be virtualized? If not, why?

Really hope to hear from any of you on this.

Thank you very much in advance!

I assume by 'virtualize" you mean you want to run Solaris 8 ( now running on SPARC64) in an x86 architecture.

Have you looked at QEMU?

You can read the details about the QEMU Sparc32 emulator here:

https://qemu.weilnetz.de/doc/qemu-doc.html#Sparc32-System-emulator

You can read the details about the QEMU Sparc64 emulator here:

https://qemu.weilnetz.de/doc/qemu-doc.html#Sparc64-System-emulator

Wikipedia:

QEMU Wiki:

1 Like

Do you have any other Sparc platforms??? You can virtualize Solaris 8 on a Solaris 10 platform. The requirement to move a Solaris 8 system off creaking hardware that might fail is quite common and this is well catered for. However, you need to know the Sun/Oracle terminology for all this stuff in order to find the necessary information on the web. I can detail all this in a following post if you have other more modern Sparc hardware that you want to move to. If you don't, then I'd be wasting me time in doing that.

Yes, QEMU as suggested by Neo is an option but, in my experience, using emulation (to translate the Sparc instruction set into x86 instructions) is very slow and a bit of a nightmare to configure. In many situations it's not practical.

So question is, what more modern Sparc hardware do you have?

1 Like

--- Post updated at 03:36 AM ---