Siri and the future of scripters, and people like us...

I think with the increasing use of things like siri and dragonspeak that have not only the ability to convert what you say into text but also act on it, we are entering an age of computing when the average user will just tell their computer what they want to do and the computer will do it for them. This is a good thing for streamlining and making computers accessible to everyone. However I do think that this will mean less of "us" in favor of GUI users, and will also make our jobs more important.
If anyone has any thoughts on this or the whole "talking to your computer" thing that would be awesome.

I don't understand who are "we" and why this software should make our jobs more "important"?
If something like this would be accepted by a broad mass of people, then it would be just different or more jobs for developers, until maybe this hype is gone.
For work as an administrator or developer I think it is a very useless feature. Can you imagine sitting with co-workers next to you and babbling into a mike, instucting your shell? I can't at all. If you can't concentrate and talk wrong things, that would be more fatal than typing them. When you type them you can see them and read them again. I am not sure if everybody can always recall what he said, especially in a complex command line.
It might be good for "turn washy machine on" or "show photo - next - next...". For complex and critical things it is dangerous.
Maybe if they make implants one day that brings your thoughts to command line (while filtering every other thought :D), that might work. But I guess such an implant would be more expensive in it's invention than having the people just type the stuff in.
I like more to talk to people than to computer but the occasional curse :wink: where I don't really expect an answer of this machine.