RedHat and Ethernet card no like each other

I have searched this forum for solution and have drawn a blank... so I come to you for help :slight_smile:

I an a Win XP user that has no problem getting on internet when I am on that OS (currently on it right now ;)). I installed red hat 9 and when I use that OS, I cannot get a connection. I ran the internet connection wizard, but linux is not detecting my ethernet card for some reason. What can I do? I am very new to this scene :cool: . With XP, most of the common drivers are already installed, so I had to do nothing to get my broadband internet working. Am I going to have to find linux drivers for my card and install them? :confused:

Thanx

MR

redhat should auto detect it with no problem. what type of card is it? it is possible (though unlikley) that it is not supported. find out what driver to use for your card, and see the ETHERNET HOW-TO

Its an intergrated card that is built in my asus p4pe mobo. It is a Broadcom BCM5702. It is not listen on that web site.

If the ethernet card is not listed in the Linux "Hardware HowTo" then you will have trouble getting it to work with Linux.

Your best best is to buy a cheap card that *is* supported and install it in one of your unused PCI slots...... Neo

aaah fudge, i quit :frowning:

thanx for help. this is becoming too much for me

That's one of the problems with built-in features on motherboards....... most Linux users tend to select their hardware to match the operating system.

If you knew the chipset used, you might be able to rebuild the kernal to work with the chipset; but, it sounds like you are not interested in such adventures :slight_smile: