RedHat 9 Questions

Cairns, Queensland
Australia
2011 April 25

I am new to the formidable Red Hat forum. I hope I am submitting things
correctly. I am using Red Hat 9, that and nothing else.

May I start with three questions?

o Does anyone know if there are simple instructions for activating a
firewall for Red Hat 9, and if it is important to have?

o I have a brand new HP Laserjet P1102 printer which I am desperate to get
working with Red Hat 9. Is that impossible?

o What browser would you recommend for Red Hat 9 today?
- I am currently using Konqueror 3.1-15
- Also working is Firefox 0.8
- Are there better, maybe later, versions? Opera?

Thanks for any help offered, and please let me know if I am using this forum
incorrectly.

Michael Snowden

Hi Michael, and welcome!

First of all, it might help if you read the forum rule.

You need to be careful not to double post and you need a descriptive subject text. Your subject "astronomer" is not really helpful to others and does not correctly represent your question, which really has nothing to do with astronomy.

Please be aware that Red Hat 9 is ancient.

from redhat.com | Red Hat Linux 9 Features Latest Open Source Technologies

8 years may as well be a lifetime in the Linux world. If you have a reasonably modern computer and are interested in contemporary Red Hat Linux for personal use, visit Fedora Project Homepage

Regards and welcome to the forum,
Alister

Thank you. Not quite what I am seeking.

Michael

---------- Post updated at 09:19 PM ---------- Previous update was at 09:11 PM ----------

Cairns, Queensland
2011 April 25

Thank you administrator. I have not found a way to change the word astronomer to Red Hat 9. Can you do that for me please?

Michael

You can use iptables, not sure if it's included by default but you can certainly install it yourself.

Yes, but IMO if you are really concerned about security then it would be more important not to use an ancient OS.