Multiple SSH Key pairs for security

Hi,

I have a quick question around SSH pub/priv key usage.
Eager to get some advice/opinions on what might be the risks/advantages, any thoughts around security etc.

This is the basic scenario.
...I'm an admin of a Machine A for my business. I require to transfer (outbound only) files to all my individual customers endpoints. For this, I generate a pub/priv key pair and then I provide the public key to Client A/B/C etc, who provides a username for me to facilitate a connection to them (One directional).

e.g.
machineA $ ssh clienta_user@clientA_IP_Address
machineA $ ssh client_B_stuff@clientB_IP_Address
Etc. etc.

Machine A (Me)
                         |

In this case, I only have and manage one SINGLE pub/priv key pair. And this pairing is used then to essentially connect to all my different clients/customers. So, the private key remains securely only on Machine A, in ~/.ssh/ under the same OS user.

...If I was to say, generate an individual pub/priv key pair per each client/customer - the multiple private keys still remain under the same OS user, in the same directory, on the same machine.

So, does having potentially many multiples of pub/priv key pairs (for each client/customer) really enhance security?
i.e. if Someone gains access to machine A, all private keys will be compromised whether its one or ten?
Does it really enhance my position to have multiple pairings or just create an administrative overhead?

R

Probably not much difference , more admin with more keys.
Presume you are well aware of the basics around security of keys etc.

If the account on your host is interactive then make it encrypted - at least that way there's an additional layer of security needing to be compromised.

perhaps look at a different model than SSH for this purpose -
one potential might be Syncthing - Wikipedia
(I've no experience of it myself so cave usor ! )

am sure the team will have additional feedback on this.

Hello,