Deleting unused kdb+ analytic files in RedHat

Hello guys :slight_smile:
I am new to using Unix and was hoping somebody could help me. Essentially, I am trying to clean out my database. For example, I have a directory filled with 100s of analytics and I want to know if they are used by any other analytics or if they are used by the front end user interface platforms. When I run

grep -rl (analytic_name)

it returns other analytics where this analytic is used. But i would like to run something that means i don't have to go through them one by one.
Thank you very much. Any help is appreciated

Linux 3.10.0-1062.1.2.el7.x86_64 #1 SMP Mon Sep 16 14:19:51 EDT 2019 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

To ask these types of questions, you must provide your full system details, version numbers and application names and version number.

Is this what is needed?

Linux 3.10.0-1062.1.2.el7.x86_64 #1 SMP Mon Sep 16 14:19:51 EDT 2019 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

You database application is?

Your exact Linux distribution ?

Where do I find this information? (I'm very new)

Try one of these methods:

• a] /etc/*-release file.
  • b] lsb_release command
  • c] /proc/version file.
  • d] hostnamectl command

Normally, lsb_release is what I use.

Regarding deleting "database files" .... how can you consider deleting "database" files when you do not know what database application you are running?

Are you sure you mean "database" files? What kind of database, exactly?

1 Like

Regarding the version: lsb_release -a
The given kernel version only match for RHEL 7.7 or CentOS 7.7. Where the technical differences are neglectable.

The given grep command is one method to find out where references exist.

A method to check when the file was indeed last opened:
ls -lu filename

1 Like

When I run [lsb_release -a] I get:

[LSB Version:    :core-4.1-amd64:core-4.1-noarch]
[Distributor ID: RedHatEnterpriseServer]
[Description:    Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 7.7 (Maipo)]