Big difference between UNIX systems? Which one as OSX replacement for a developer?

Hello Everyone

I am a software developer and private OS X user. I was enthusiastic with what I learned about Linux (on my OS X) during the operating system module at school and I am using some of it.
But I may not want to go the Apple way till the end. And OS X is a little too big to run on a NAS, memory stick or as a virtual machine on my workplace to make some well known CL tools available at work.

I am looking for a Linux or any other Unix (like) system like FreeBSD, Solaris, FreeDarvin, ...
I tried to find it myself, but was overwhelmed with the amount of information.

I don't know how much these systems really differ from a bash terminal point of view.I mean between the different Linux distributions and different Unix versions are there big differences in
� names of the commands (ls, find, pwd, pipes, in-output redirection, ...)?
� names of the most command line tools (iptables, grip,...)?
� directory structure?
� placement and form of configuration files?
� e.g is iptables and cronjob real differences between these systems? � would I need a completely different bash script to achieve the same on e.g. Debian and FreeBSD?

Requirement for Unix system as a secondary system:
� nice, comfortable bash terminal which supports split screen, copy & past
� portable, running on most hardware, stable and fast on some
� version for bootable USB-Stick available
� many precompiled packages available per package manager
� simple installation
� available and support long term

Requirements for Unix System as a primary system at home:
� nice and minimalistic GUI
� support of multiple displays
� support somehow Microsoft onenote
� shall support iTunes
� nice backup functionality (close to time machine on mac)
� development with Java (intellij idea, Tomcat,...)
� development of web apps (Apache, NodeJs, Browser Support)
� icloud, Dropbox, google drive,... local