X-Windows on Solaris

Hi,

I am new to the X-windows concept. I am connecting to Solaris Server through putty. I heard we can start an X-windows session(GUI) of the Solaris server from putty session as well.

Can somebody help as how to proceed to acheive this ?

Thanks in advance.

you need a xserver on the machine which is running putty... something like:

Xming - PC X Server

Thank u for the response,DukeNuke2. It would be kind if you could elaaborate it a little...

I tried the following steps:
a) edit /etc/ssh/ssh_config file and made these changes: XForwardAgent yes and ForwardX11 yes
b) restarted the ssh service.
c) exported DISPLAY="host ip:0.0"
d) tried to run xclock on putty session as : cd /usr/openwin/bin/ and then ./xclock --> this should start a GUI Clock but i am getting the following error "Error: Can't open display: xx.x.x.xxx:0.0"

Somebody with the solution for this or suggest on the error ??

Thank you.

have you installed the x server on your windows system? is the software running?

The x-windows concept uses terminology which would seem back to front to the normal user. ie client / server.

Client = X enabled APPLICATIONS (installed on the server you are connecting to through your putty session). e.g. xclock etc.....

Server = This is the portion of the software that interfaces with your local graphics hardware - it's installed on your local (Windows) client / workstation.

You start the local x server app on your pc then connect to your unix server via your putty session. set your DISPLAY variable and start an X client (enabled app) and the Graphics output will get redircted to your pc.

Something like Netserang's X-manager or Hummingbird Exceed gets my vote for an X-server

Nick

step c) is incorrect. When you tunnel X11 through ssh, the DISPLAY variable is automatically set by sshd with something like localhost:10. You must not change its value.

Thank you all for your valuable suggestions.....
Thank u DukeNuke for the idea,