Which tool is best tfor practicing Datastage?

I am new to unix.
I started learning unix. Where can we practice unix commands.
Is there any free online tools are available? or Is there any free software ?

First, which UNIX? They're not all the same.

Once you decide, a good way to try it out may be by booting a livecd in your computer -- it will run in memory without altering your hard drive. You could also boot it in something like virtualpc, or even do a full install there.

Hey! thanks

I am learning Shell script.(SSH)
I have Windows vista O/S on my laptop.

Okay.

The question still stands. Which UNIX?

With little knowledge I can say AIX.

AIX is an expensive commercial UNIX which only runs on special IBM server computers. It won't run on a consumer PC, and certainly won't run in Windows. Unless you've been told to learn AIX this is kind of a difficult place to begin.

If you're not sure where to begin, you could try downloading a Linux livecd -- Knoppix is popular -- to burn to CDROM and boot on your laptop. This allows you to run a Linux environment without actually installing Linux on your computer. Linux technically is not UNIX but shares the same concepts, structure, and programming languages in common.

Thanks for information..

I just need to practice shell script.
I heard that there are some online free tools available to practice.
May be I am wrong. I didn't give the correct information.

Thank you for your patience and response.

if you need is 'scripting', I'd start with the simple Cygwin (http://cygwin.com/) under Windows.

I am using Datastage(Datawarehouse) tool. where I need to use shell script for jobs execution and deletion etc.

---------- Post updated at 05:33 PM ---------- Previous update was at 05:32 PM ----------

@vgersh99

I tried it. but it showing bash script. My shell script is not working there.

what shell interpreter your script is written in? (ksh?)
what exactly not working?