Using sftp from one server to other server

HI all

I need a script that would take the file from a mainframe to another server.Presently i am using a ndm but i am not knowing what the changes would be required to change to sftp.

Can you please provide some code that would be helpful

Thanks

What is the type of other server ( not the mainframe )?.
If you intend to move the files from the mainframe to some other host that is running some UNIX variants, Then easily you can write some shell script to initiate a connection to the mainframe over SFTP then pull out files to the other host that would be easier as majority of forum members never been exposed to mainframes.
Anyways what type of mainframe OS is this sever?

1 Like

Actually my file is present in the main frame server and i need to get that file to my unix server.so i am asked to write a script using sftp instead of ndm . As i am totally new to unix so i am not getting actaully how to start can you please help me by telling what would be the script i have already given the script i used when i had to use ndm so now we need to change to sftp.
please reply me as soon as possible i need this very urgently

Thanks

---------- Post updated at 11:37 AM ---------- Previous update was at 11:26 AM ----------

someone please help me out i need this script as soon as possible

Why not just use scp on the command line (for one file)? If you have sftp, you probably have scp installed... "man scp" should help.

Which machines have sftp servers, and which have sftp clients.
If you have the client software for the mainframe it will likely be easier to push the file the the unix system.
To run it from the unix side, once you have a connection is simply:

$sftp mainframe
sftp>get gh.ij.kl(0) /u/scripts/mn
sftp>quit
$

Is the source file ASCII or EBCDIC ?
What record separator(s) does the source file use?

1 Like

we cant use scp command because we need to write a script not a command to get those files