Use the variables in a python script.

Hi,

I have a defined some variables in a configuration file and I want to use those variables in a python script. For example, I have the following variables in a configuration file.

[test_ini]
Region = North
Country = USA

[ptfm_dgnst]
CONN_FL=`perl -F= -lane 'print $F[1] if m!^com.cis.b33.team_db_conn!' $HOME/opt/config.ini`
CONN=`$HOME/opt/bin/decrypt $CONN_FL`

Now I want to execute those variables whenever the configuration file is being called from python script and print the value of CONN variable using the python script.

I am new to python and appreciate if you could help me fix the following script I wrote.

import os
from ConfigParser import SafeConfigParser
parser = SafeConfigParser()
parser.read('pltfm.ini')
conn_str=os.system("echo $CONN")
print conn_str

Using Python 2.7 on Ubuntu 16.04 (Xenial) - What is your system?

Does this help?

$ python
Python 2.7.12 (default, Nov 19 2016, 06:48:10) 
[GCC 5.4.0 20160609] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import os
>>> from ConfigParser import SafeConfigParser
>>> parser = SafeConfigParser()
>>> parser.read('pltfm.ini')
['pltfm.ini']
>>> help(parser)

>>> parser.sections()
['test_ini', 'ptfm_dgnst']
>>> parser.items('test_ini')
[('region', 'North'), ('country', 'USA')]
>>> parser.items('ptfm_dgnst')
[('conn_fl', "`perl -F= -lane 'print $F[1] if m!^com.cis.b33.team_db_conn!' $HOME/opt/config.ini`"), 
('conn', '`$HOME/opt/bin/decrypt $CONN_FL`')]
>>> ptfm_dgnst = dict(parser.items('ptfm_dgnst'))
>>> conn_str = ptfm_dgnst['conn']
>>> print conn_str
`$HOME/opt/bin/decrypt $CONN_FL`
>>> 

As you can see I am using the Python CLI - it's so much easier for testing snippets of code. Note the use of the help function - it shows the equivalent of a man page of Python classes and their methods. I don't know what you were trying to achieve with

conn_str=os.system("echo $CONN")

but I hope the above helps you with achieving that.