UNIX mail and wrapping

Greetings,

I am by no means a Unix expert and hope that someone here can help me out.

I am sending an email from within a Progress character program. This works fine.
My issue is that I would like to send more than 80 characters and the email is wrapping at 80 chars.

Is this an email issue? Or can I send a param on the mail command to allow for more characters?

Here is my Progress command:

unix silent "mail -s 'Subject' user@company.com < " value(t-efilename).

The text file represented by t-efilename is 100 characters wide. The email when received wraps everything after 80 chars onto the next line.

Here is the body of the email:

PO DUE DATE CHANGE ALERT

Item   :  105562

Width  :     21.250
  Length :  43500.000

Original Due Date :  01/15/13
  New Due Date      :  01/12/13
  ------------------------------------------------------------------------
  -------------

Job  Scheduled Date/Time      Customer                   Qty
  Ordered   Remaining
   -------  -----------------------  -------------------------
  -----------  ----------
    785324  02/12/2013 07:31:08.000  GC Company
  1,500.00  192,708.33

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

RA

Can you double check if your email client is wrapping texts after 80 chars?

I'm not familiar with progress character program, another option is to convert your file into HTML and specify the line breaks <br> thus avoiding the wrapping issue.

Thanks for the reply.

HTML is an option for sure.

As for the wrapping, the crappy thing is that I am not whitelisted on my clients site (yet) so I cannot use my email address to test the output. I am having the email forwarded to me.......

Very inefficient and time consuming but it's all I have right now. I will ask about the wrapping in email.

If you have access to the unix command line can you try an mail the file without going through progress eg:

$ mail -s 'Subject' user@company.com < /tmp/your_mail_file