UNIX for beginners

I am new to non Windows operating systems. Does anyone have advice on which UNIX OS vendor would be good for learning purposes. I was looking for a version of UNIX that runs on the Intel platform. Do you have any recommendations on where to purchase the software? Thank you.

I am also new to Unix, but I have used and installed both SCO Unix and Sun Solaris. SCO Unix is probably more Intel friendly. The newest to make waves is Linux which is growing ever popular. However there are many free versions out there on the web including Sun Solaris that you can download for free. I know this probably does not help you but I hope it is a start for understanding the easy accesability of different Unix varieties.

If you have a chance goto www.techtv.com . They reviewed some Unix systems a while back.

you may try Red hat Linux or FreeBSD's version. Its great for newbie learner & easy to handle.

I would also suggest FreeBSD if only for the free on-line documentation that is available at www.freebsd.org. Good stuff.

FreeBSD and Solaris are substantially more challenging for newcomers than is Linux. And, Mandrake and SuSE Linux are easier to deal with than Red Hat or any of the others I've looked at.

(I recently installed Solaris, FreeBSD, Mandrake, SuSE, Red Hat, and Lycoris, and those were my conclusions.)

Mandrake and SuSE are available in retail boxes from places like CompUSA and Best Buy.

For tips on getting started, see my article at www.basepath.com/linux.

Maybe for installation but I will take the FreeBSD ports tree over RPM any day of the week. The ports tree is even simple for novices once they learn how to use it (and it isn't that difficult to learn).

I will agree about installation, though. The SuSE 7.x installation was very simple and very Windows like.