Terminal script

I'd like to write a script that will run when I log into OS X, which will do the following:

1) Launch Terminal
2) Immediately close the window that Terminal creates when it opens.
3) Preferably, keep Terminal hidden while all this is happening, so all I see is the Terminal icon bouncing in the dock as the program launches.

Any advice appreciated :slight_smile:

PS: I'd prefer the script to be a .sh or a .c file (to compile), as those are the only two languages I have some experience in at the moment. Thanks.

Why not to do this when you enter runlevel 5?

Sorry, that's way beyond my experience right now. I don't even properly understand what you mean! Can you explain?

A runlevel is a software configuration of the system which allows only a selected group of processes to exist. The processes spawned by init process for each of these runlevels are defined in the /etc/inittab file. Runlevels 0, 1, and 6 are reserved. Other runlevels are dependent on how your particular distribution has defined them, and they vary significantly between distributions.

Most users run X from runlevels 3 or 5 (for linux?). Runlevel 3 places your system in multi-user mode with full networking capabilities. The machine will boot to a text-based login prompt with all necessary preconfigured services started. Most servers are run in runlevel 3, as X is not necessary to provide any services utilized by most users. Runlevel 5 is similar to 3, except that it automatically starts X and provides a graphical login screen. Many workstation users prefer this method, because it never forces them to see a command prompt.

You can add commands that must be executed in appropriate runlevel in some file/under some directory (e.g. /etc/rc.d/rc5.d)

Here is what happens when OS X boots:

http://www.kernelthread.com/mac/osx/arch_startup.html

It would be helpful to know why this operation is important because there may be a better way to accomplish the "why" than you might realize.