Sudo question

I am running AIX 6.6.5.115 and am experiencing a problem using sudo. I have shell scripts that I created for our HR user and shell scripts that I created for root administrators. I do have a need to embed a sudo command in the user shell script to run one command as root. However the two environments are different and the command will fail if I use a sudo -u root followed by the command as it is using the HR user variables rather than the true root variables. Can someone please offer me some suggestions on how to do this? I am new to sudo and am trying to learn it on my own due to budget constraints.

Thanks in advance,

Ron

You havent chown us the line in sudoers file for that HR user...
Have you tried to pass a line in sudoers like ?

HRuser ALL=(ALL)   NOPASSWD:<the command you want to pass>

I have not tried that as I have three different commands any one of which many need to be run depending on what is being processed on that particular day. I thought I should be able to just run the command via sudo but the environment and PS1 variables due not set properly when using sudo commands. I can manually set everything with the exception of the PS1 variable.

$ sudo -u root

usage: sudo -h | -K | -k | -V
usage: sudo -v [-AknS] [-g group] [-h host] [-p prompt] [-u user]
usage: sudo -l [-AknS] [-g group] [-h host] [-p prompt] [-U user] [-u user]
            [command]
usage: sudo [-AbEHknPS] [-C num] [-g group] [-h host] [-p prompt] [-u user]
            [VAR=value] [-i|-s] [<command>]
usage: sudo -e [-AknS] [-C num] [-g group] [-h host] [-p prompt] [-u user] file

$

You haven't shown us what you're actually doing so I'm only guessing, but you may want to sudo su - instead of sudo su .

The -u root is redundant.