Storing a Temporary File Using C

How would someone save a file such as /etc/vpnc/test.conf locally into a temp file, so it can be queried? So for example if I used rsync to copy this file locally, how would I add that to a temp_file variable and discard it using unlink?

#include <stdio.h>
    #include "error.h"
    #include "string.h"
    #define BUFLEN 256
    char buffer[BUFLEN];
    int main() {
    FILE *fp;
    char *rsync;
    char *target
    char tmp_file[BUFLEN];
                command=malloc(2*strlen(rsync)+strlen(target)+24+strlen(tmp_file));
                sprintf(command, "%s %s://%s/csync/etc/passwd %s", rsync, rsync, target, tmp_file);1
            }
            if ... 
         }
     fclose(fp);
     unlink(tmp_file);
   }

I truncate the code to get to the point as you can tell I am very new to C and wanted to get a better understanding of it. How would I initialize tmp_file so I can query it locally and then discard the file using unlink? I looked at this but is rather confusing for something so simple.
Howto: C Programming with Temporary Files in Linux

fread(tmp_file, buflen, 1, filepointer);

Except, what do you mean by "queried"? And how will dumping it wholesale into memory help you? I suspect it won't. Usually you'd operate on lines one-by-one and seek around and things.

My suggestion would be "don't do that" -- open it, then discard it using unlink, but keep the file pointer around until you're done with it. It will disappear from the directory, but your file pointer will still be good until you close it.

1 Like

Essentially in a nutshell this is what I am trying to achieve:

1 - Temporary download /etc/vpnc/test.conf to tmp_file
2 - Search for a line in tmp_file
3 - print out the results of my findings
4 - Delete tmp_file

As always, many thanks for your help

What I am suggesting is

1) Download tmp_file
2) Open tmp_file in program
3) Unlink tmp_file (yes, while still open)
4) Search for line
5) Print results