Stop script execution, when we encounter error

Team,
Im new to shell scripting please help in below issue:
Considering scenario i have 1.sql,2.sql,3.sql and 4.sql . If my second script fails my loop should come out and should not execute 3.sql and 4.sql.

Here is my code.

#! /bin/bash
echo "exit" | user/password | grep Connected > /dev/null
if [ $? -eq 0 ]
then
   echo "Passed"
   while read file
   do
   echo "Executing file $file..."
   output=`user/password << EOF >> test.log
   @/home/$file`
   done < /home/master.sql
else
   echo "Failed"

fi

From the thread title: "Stop script execution, when we encounter error", reading what you have posted, I am totally lost...

OK where do i see them?

So what is the script you posted?
Now even this script puzzles me as I cant see how it works...
Do you mind explaining what this first line is supposed to do?

echo "exit" | user/password | grep Connected > /dev/null

Then
lets say the following works:

if [ $? -eq 0 ]
then
   echo "Passed"
   while read file

Where is file set? ...

Hi vbe,

while read file
   do
   echo "Executing file $file..."
   output=`user/password << EOF >> test.log
   @/home/$file`
   done < /home/master.sql

Each time through this loop, the variable named file is set by the read command to contain the contents of a line read from the file /home/master.sql . (But, that would only be true if the here-document inside that while read loop was terminated. Oh, well.)

Having said that, I agree with you that I have no idea why finding the string Connected in the output from the utility named user/passwd when it reads a line from standard input that is exit would provide any reason for reading names of files from a file named /home/master.sql .