Sorting by length

Hello,
I have a very large file: a dictionary of headwords of around 40000 and would like to have the dictionary sorted by its length i.e. the largest string first and the smallest at the end.
I have hunted for a perl or awk script on the forum which can do the job but there is none available.
I am a newbie to Perl and more accustomed to C programming. The C program I wrote takes ages and I believe Perl or Awk are blazing fast.
Could anybody provide me with a script and if possible help me out by useful comments so that I can start off writing scripts on my own.
Many thanks for your kind help

This thread might help.

Note that for reverse order sorting you can use sort -nr

1 Like

Hi.

The available utility msort allows a number of different comparison types, and among them is string length. Here's an example on a sample of dictionary data:

#!/usr/bin/env bash

# @(#) s1	Demonstrate sort lines by length, msort.
# See: http://freecode.com/projects/msort

# Utility functions: print-as-echo, print-line-with-visual-space, debug.
# export PATH="/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin"
pe() { for _i;do printf "%s" "$_i";done; printf "\n"; }
pl() { pe;pe "-----" ;pe "$*"; }
db() { ( printf " db, ";for _i;do printf "%s" "$_i";done;printf "\n" ) >&2 ; }
db() { : ; }
C=$HOME/bin/context && [ -f $C ] && $C msort

FILE=${1-data1}

pl " Input data file $FILE:"
cat $FILE

pl " Results from msort:"
msort -q --line -n 1,1 --comparison-type size $FILE

exit 0

producing:

% ./s1

Environment: LC_ALL = C, LANG = C
(Versions displayed with local utility "version")
OS, ker|rel, machine: Linux, 2.6.26-2-amd64, x86_64
Distribution        : Debian GNU/Linux 5.0.8 (lenny) 
bash GNU bash 3.2.39
msort 8.44

-----
 Input data file data1:
camera
excitatory
incense
liken
offertory
peregrine
prairie
proportion
redwood
Riemannian

-----
 Results from msort:
liken
camera
redwood
incense
prairie
offertory
peregrine
excitatory
proportion
Riemannian