Some Problem with Korne Shell//

I am new to Korne Shell Scripting. Can someone help me with a Korne Shell which asks the user :-

1) to enter the name of a file when searching it recursively (using the find
command) in the home directory of this user.

2) for a date (format AAMMJJ) and a directory and then searches
recursively in this directory the list of files modified after the date
chosen.

Thanks,
Marconi.

Any pointers will do.

Thanks.

Read the man-page of find ("man find") and a good book about ksh programming - Barry Rosenbergs "Hands-On KornShell93 Programming" (1998, Addison-Wesley) is IMHO the best and at the same time really funny to read.

This should answer all your homework questions you have.

(On a side note, learning how to edit your own postings using the "edit"-button instead of posting them anew would also help, but that will be left for the "advanced"-assignment of the computer science curriculum.)

bakunin

Hi Everyone,

I have tried with the following Code for each of the following, but that does not seem to serve the purpose. Can someone give some pointers please.

1) A Korne Shell which asks the user to enter the name of a file when searching it
recursively (using the find command) in the home directory of this user.

\#!/usr/bin/ksh
find * -type f -type d -path usr
if [ �a file ]
then
     echo -n "Enter the file name"
fi

2) A Korne Shell which asks the user for a date (format AAMMJJ) and a directory and
then searches recursively in this directory the list of files modified after the date
chosen.

\#!/usr/bin/ksh
if ['-d $1'\+ 'date -t "%AA%MM%JJ"']
then
     echo -n "find all files modified after the chosen date"
touch ' new date -nt "%AA%MM%JJ"
find * -type f -type new date

Thanks,
Marconi.

*sigh*