Solaris 9 Password

Hello,

I'm new to solaris but am a certified systems administrator. I was recently brought the task of repairing a sunblade150 and was completely willing to take on this task without knowing the history behind this system. Apparently some slick S.O.B. from ebay bought this system, took the Solaris 9 installation disk and password protected root then sent it back saying he doesnt want it because its password protected. Ive been reading around and understand how to get to the OK prompt and use "boot -s cdrom" but everytime i try this i get nowhere but a password prompt. Ive seen that i can reset the root password with the install disk using the passwd command but this guy stole our disk (because about a year ago this OS was worth a lot of money) So i went to sun and downloaded the free solaris 10 and was planning on just reinstalling 10 because i need nothing off this hard disk, but im still confronted with a password prompt before i can continue to even try to install this OS. My only thought right now would be to install the HD as slave on a different computer and delete all partitions. (because i cant delete the partitions as is) But I'm not sure if this is the right answer. Does anyone have any other solutions out there?

This actually sounds like the password for the open boot prom, not any disk.

I suggest you download 816-4379-10.pdf which is the service manual for the machine.

Index of /docs/sunblade150

Reset the programmable read only memory with no results. I then installed a new cdrom to see if maybe it wasnt reading correctly and continuing to boot from the hard disk, no luck. So i removed the hard disk and wiped it completely. Now i get an error message after using command "boot cdrom" of:

Boot device: /pci@1f,0/ide@d/cdrom@1,0:f  File and args:  grub
Bad magic number in disk label
Can't open disk label package

Cant open boot device

ok