Shell Scripting | Return list of unique characters in files

Hi,

I am trying to script the below, but I am not very good at it :frowning:

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

1. read all files in the directory in strings
strings *.*
  1. in each file, for each line that contains "ABCD", store characters located at position 521 and 522 of this line (this is where I am stuck)

2. once all files have been read, print a list of unique values (I guess I would have to use uniq).

This specification is far from clear or complete. Please explain again in detail, supported by input and output samples, where you come from and what you want to achieve.

Dear clippertm,

I have a few to questions pose in response first:-

• Is this homework/assignment? There are specific forums for these.
  • What have you tried so far?
  • What output/errors do you get?
  • What OS and version are you using?
  • What are your preferred tools? (C, shell, perl, awk, etc. & strings, of course!)
  • What logical process have you considered? (to help steer us to follow what you are trying to achieve)

Most importantly, What have you tried so far?

There are probably many ways to achieve most tasks, so giving us an idea of your style and thoughts will help us guide you to an answer most suitable to you so you can adjust it to suit your needs in future.

We're all here to learn and getting the relevant information will help us all.

Kind regards,
Robin

It's difficult to tell you how you to accomplish a task, if you don't even specify what programming language you are going to use.

As to your question regarding extracting a single character:

Assuming that you have read the line in question to a shell variable, extracting a character at a certain position from a variable can be done in bash or zsh with

${line:522:1}

In Zsh, you also have the option to write

${line[521,521]}