Shell Script to delete files from 5 different servers

Hello,

I'm new to shell scripting and need a quick note on how to write a shell script to perform deletion of files from 5 different hostnames in various locations.

Found out to delete files from one path by using below command and made it to work on cron job but need to do it in a shell script that should run on 5 servers at different file locations.

find /path/to/files -type f -name "*log*" -mtime +10 -print -delete

But here's is the trick there are files in different locations on each server. So how can i write a script to do in a single shot.
And each server got different hostname.
Thought of case could do me a favor.And ran out of ideas.

Please help me out.

Thanks,
Teja G

Welcome to the forum.

If you want more than just a few generic hints what could be done, your specification needs a way more precise problem description, and more details like input data & structure, network connectivity, servers' directory structures & file locations, dand possibly more.

Maybe some good starters are the links at the bottom left of this page under "More UNIX and Linux Forum Topics You Might Find Helpful".

1 Like

@RudiC

So here are the file locations where i needed my files to be deleted on my servers.
Static Servers - /app/logs/httpd
Login Servers - /app/login/jetty/logs
Oauth Serves - /app/oauth-v2/jetty/logs

I did created and wrote for static servers as following

find /app/logs/httpd -type f -name "*log" -mtime +10 -print -delete

And there are 2 servers in the static group. So placed the script in cron job and its running fine on every Sunday 00:00 hrs.

But need the script attaching the above with Login and Oauth servers at the location specified in the same cron job. So it can run on static,login and oauth serves at same time using the same script.

So please guide me where to start from and which will be easier."Case, if...else, while or for"

Thanks,
Teja