Shell script to copy files from on folder to another

I am trying to copy files with specific date and name to another folder. I am very new to shell scripting so i am finding it hard to do that. see the sample code i have written below.

srcdir="/media/ubuntu/CA52057F5205720D/Users/st4r8_000/Desktop/office work/26 nov"
dstdir="/media/ubuntu/ubuntu"
source=/home/bmsc/HOME/data/haguard.xml
destination=/home/bmsc/backup/
find_res = find ./ -type f -name '12*.csv' -mtime -1

so the question is, is it possible to put that find into a if block so that I can copy the files found by find . Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Is this a homework assignment? (Homework and coursework questions can only be posted in the Homework and Coursework Questions forum under special homework rules described here.)

What shell are you using?

If you want to save the output from a command in a variable, you need to use command substitution to run the command and capture its output. Just assigning a command string to a variable does not cause that command to be executed.

Look more closely at the man page for find . The -exec primary is probably going to be much more useful for you than saving the output from find in a variable and trying to figure out how to use that in an if statement. If find ... -exec ... won't work for you, you probably want to pipe the output from find into a while read loop rather than an if command.

Nope this isn't a home work.

however i will try to find out how -exec works. thanks for giving thoughts on this.

Making some very wild guesses from what you showed us before, you might want something like:

srcdir="/media/ubuntu/CA52057F5205720D/Users/st4r8_000/Desktop/office work/26 nov"
dstdir="/media/ubuntu/ubuntu"

find "$srcdir" -type f -name '12*.csv' -mtme -1 -exec cp {} "$dstdir" \;

But I have no idea why you need both a srcdir and a source variable nor why you need both a dstdir and a destination variable???