Shell script that runs a random shell script

Hi, im trying to make a shell script that basically runs a random shell script form a list of shell scripts i specify. Im not very good at writing shell scripts, and am new to linux.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

So you want to invoke the script foo and it picks and runs a script from an internal list.... If that's the case, then here is a simple example:

#!/usr/bin/env ksh

nscripts=5
rn=$(( $RANDOM % $nscripts ))

case $rn in
    0)  echo script_1;;
    1)  echo script_2;;
    2)  echo script_3;;
    3)  echo script_4;;
    4)  echo script_5;;
esac
exit 0

Replace the echo script_n with the command you wish to exeecute and you're in business.

Wonderful, thank you so much for your help you've made my dreams come true :slight_smile:

---------- Post updated at 12:47 PM ---------- Previous update was at 12:39 PM ----------

Could I request some more help ;D

Now that ive got this down, it will use nearly 60 shell scripts. Ive got all of them made but the only difference is each shell script just copies to a different line of text to the end of a text file. Would it be possible to use a scipt similar to this but to have it randomly copy a line of text (actually its just one word) from a list of words to the end of a text file?

Then i could cut it down to only a few scripts.

Are you looking to randomly write one of a series of different texts to the end of a text file. If so you can use the same script as above but replace the case option with something like

case $rn in
1) echo "your text here" >> text_file.txt
esac

the double redirect symbol (I believe it is called something like append) will put the "your text here" at the bottom of the text_file.txt

I hope that helps a little :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yes, that's exactly what i wish to do. Thanks for the info i,ll try it out.