Shell advanced syntax?

I am not an expert of shell scripting, but I can do some simple things. Now, I read a script written by others and I need some help from the experts of this forum.

Please help me to understand what is going on in this cycle:

if [ $COMPILER = "sun" ]; then
[[ -f /sunstudio12/bin/sunf90 ]] && \
      export IMDI_COMPILER=/sunstudio12/bin/sunf90 || \
      { 
      echo "Please specify location!"; exit; 
      }
    [[ -z "$SZIP_ROOT" ]] && SZIP_ROOT=/szip-2.1
elif [ $COMPILER = "intel" ]; then

In particular, I do not understand this synax: [[...]] && \ export... ||,
where the || operand is used after the export command. It rise by me the question if the export command return any Boolean value?

Thank you in advance for help!

[[...]] && export... ||,

is one line form of

if [[ ... ]] ; then
export...
else
echo "Please ...
fi

the \ is used for cosmetic reasons : when a line is too long, you can break it by typing <enter> but in order to "desactivate" the <enter> you have to protect it first by a \

so the line

[[...]] && export... || cmd...

can be put one several line to make it readable when commands are too long:

[[...]] && \
export... || \
cmd...
2 Likes

Thank you very much for good answer!

But I would like to point out two things that are still unclear to me:

1. Actually, I have two ifs or not? I mean when typing
if [[...]]; then
   [[....]]
elif....
  1. Mainly, what is a bit strange for me, is the following:
if [[.....]] ; then
   [[ -f ... ]] && \
      export  ... || \
      { 
      echo ...; exit; 
      }

because I am expecting no return from export command. So, why should I ask like this:

[[...]] AND export VAR OR...

I think it is equivalent to this:

if [ $COMPILER = "sun" ]; then
  if [[ -f /sunstudio12/bin/sunf90 ]]; then
    export IMDI_COMPILER=/sunstudio12/bin/sunf90
  else
    echo "Please specify location!"
    exit
  fi
  if [[ -z "$SZIP_ROOT" ]]; then
    SZIP_ROOT=/szip-2.1
  fi