Setting Environment variable from value in file

I've searched Google and now this forum. Best guess is my search fu is not good (and it probably isn't). The Google search did bring me here.

Background
I have a number of Korn Shell scripts who all use one of 3 values for an environment variable used in the backup system.
On occasion one or more value will be changed by the backup team.

This make me have to manually edit each script to change the value.

What I'd like to do is have 3 files. Each containing one value.

And have the value brought into the script and exported as the value for the specific environment variable.

Thanks
WolfBrother

???

Why not give the requested value as an argument of your script?
(will avoid the editing phase...)

Good question - the script generally is a self contained script that may have to be executed by someone who may not know the valid value for that specific application.

I am an Oracle DBA. The specific scripts I'm dealing with are for one specific system. The backup parm is a sched id. For that one specific system there are three values. Other systems I have range from one completely different sched id to 5 differing sched ids. All specific to the system/DB instance they're backing up. Somewhere around 50 different ones just for the DBs I'm primary on. We're a fairly large organization, we have 15+ DBA's so you get an idea as to just the number of sched ids we'd have to remember.

I try to write my scripts so that all you have to do is execute the script without having to know the specifics to that system.

We source an instance specific <SID>.env file for specific environment variables. I could set them there but would still multiple edits if a sched id changes again.