send mail once string is seen

I need to write a script that when it sees the following string in a log file, it emails a group of people

SQLException: ORA-12157: TNS:internal network communication error

im a newb to scripting, any ideas would be appreciated

Just use grep for the string in the log.. if you find it.. send out a mail

yeah but how do i go about doing that, i also need to only send an email if it's todays date...

Please elaborate your requirement..

im a script newb so i dont even know where to begin. I need a script that will constantly run and grep a log for the above string, and send an email if that string is found.... only on todays date...

no one.....?

Hey if you give can give what format the date(say dd-mm-yy or mon-dd-yy) is in the log, then it can be done.

Here's where you begin, but still, there are more things to consider...

ERROR=$(grep ORA-12157 /your/log/file.txt | wc -l)
if (( ${ERROR} > 0 )); then
mailx -s "SQLException: ORA-12157: TNS:internal network communication error" \ <email alias for multiple users>
fi

Save that in a script and put it in your cron tab.
Create a mail group in sendmail, and that's that.
That'll do what you are asking

BUTthere are other considerations.
Do you want to send the email every time the error occurs?
Are you just checking every so often, like say, every day to see if such error occured?
How often does the log file rotate? You don't want to be sending multiple e-mails for a single event, right?

I gave this my own shot

# vi check_ora
"check_ora" 14 lines, 302 characters
#program to grep orac error and email admin
#5-15-06
#Chris Saunders

if grep ORA-12157 /u01/AIDMS/log/AIDMS_default_island_1/aidms.log
then

echo "Oracle issues on cluster" | mailx -s "SQLException: ORA-12157: TNS:internal network communication error" saundersc
@hostname

fi

echo $?

but i cant get the email. this is just a starting point... i posted in the solaris forum on why i cant receive the email...