Send file content in mail

Hi .

I am new to scripting.I am trying to mail the recent file contents but not the below script which i wrote is not working.Please guide me in finishing the script

File='find /Directory path/*.fnr | tail -1'
content=' cat $File'
echo $content | mail -s "Subject " "myname@company.com"

Thanks,
Karthik

To get the output of a command in a variable, you need to use backquotes instead of quotes.

var=`some_command`

but it is better to use this:

var=$(some_command)

Also it is best to quote variable expansions:

cat "$FILE"
echo "$content"

In addition to what Scrutinizer has already said, the command:

File=$(find /Directory path/*.fnr | tail -1)

is very strange. Unless the pathname matching pattern path/*.fnr fails to match any pathnames, the search of the file hierarchy rooted in /Directory doesn't do anything but slow down finding the last file in the file hierarchies rooted in the pathnames matched by path/*.fnr . Note also that unless the pathnames matched by path/*.fnr are non-directory files, the last pathname printed by find from this command will be random (i.e., not necessarily in alphanumeric order, not time created order; just random). What is the intent in picking a random file from the output of find ?

And, once you have selected a file, copying the contents of file into a variable with the sole purpose of copying the text into a mail message wastes memory, time, CPU bandwidth, and I/O bandwidth. It would be MUCH more efficient to replace:

content=$(cat "$File")
echo "$content" | mail -s "Subject " "myname@company.com"

with:

mail -s "Subject " "myname@company.com" < "$File"

Hi,

I have changed the code as you mentioned but the cat command is not executing content=$(cat "$File") getting below error.

cat: invalid option -- 'r'
Try `cat --help' for more information.

Thanks.
Karthik

• What is the content of the variable File ?
  • What is the result if you use cat -- "$File" ?

Hi,