sed will not write to same file

I am a scripting noob, and having much trouble getting this script to run correctly. Upon start it should read the home directory and sort the files into a text file. Then have user enter a user name and insert it into line 1 of the same text file. Then have the date insert into the second line of the text file. Followed by a conformation message. So far it writes the the text file but creates separate files for the inputs. I am so lost... help anyone?:confused::confused:

ls --sort=extension > directory.txt
echo "Enter you user name..."
read input
sed -n "1w a\ '$input'" directory.txt
date=`date`
sed -n "2w a\ '$date'" directory.txt
echo "The operation completed successfully."

I find your description confusing.

What OS are you using? Do you care what shell is used to do this? (If so, which shell?)

What (described in English) do you want to want the output to be?

Do you want that output to be written to your terminal, or do you want it to be saved in a file? (If in a file, what is the name of that file?)

Is the following an accurate description of what you want:
Create an output file named directory.text that contains the following data:

1. A user's name (the script is to ask the user to supply a name and save the response as the first line in the output file).
  2. The current date date and time should be saved as the second line in the output file.
  3. The remainder of the output file should be a sorted list of files in the current directory sorted with the primary sort key being the file name extension.

Hi bbaumg02,

Here you go, with classic ed,

ls --sort=extension > directory.txt
echo "Enter you user name..."
read input
printf "1i\n$input\n.\nw\nq" | ed -s directory.txt

date=`date`
printf "2i\n$date\n.\nw\nq" | ed -s directory.txt
echo "The operation completed successfully."

ed works where sed won't
Enjoy , Have fun!.