Hi All,

My directory structure is like

• Directory1
    [list]
  • SubDirectory1
  • SubDirectory2
  • SubDirectory3
    [/list]

I have main directories and subdirectories underneath. I want to write a shell script where I will be passing file name as a parameter, Now I want to find all the files in Directory1 and all subdirectories having same file contents as the parametrized file and delete them.

I am new to Shell scripting, please help me in writing this.

Please send me full script, thanks a lot

Hi what have you tried?

Did not try anything, new to Unix.

Where would the file to be compared to reside? And what would you consider "same file contents"?

Thanks for reply.

The file to be compared will reside in different directory structure. I will pass file name along with directory structure as parameter. Yes contents must be same.

Thanks

And what would you consider "same file contents"?

Yes please. Same file contents.

Is this a homework assignment?

If not, please explain what determines whether or not a file compared to your "parametrized" file should be kept or removed:

1. Do the file names have to be the same?
  2. Do the file permissions have to be the same?
  3. Do the file owner and group IDs have to be the same?
  4. Do the file timestamps have to be the same?
  5. Do the file inode numbers have to be the same?
  6. Do the file contents have to be the same?
  7. If a file is a symbolic link, what should be removed? (The file to which the symlink points? The symlink itself? Both?)

Here are the answers to your questions:

Is this a homework assignment?* Work related

If not, please explain what determines whether or not a file compared to your "parametrized" file should be kept or removed:

1. Do the file names have to be the same? No
  2. Do the file permissions have to be the same? No
  3. Do the file owner and group IDs have to be the same? Yes
  4. Do the file timestamps have to be the same? No