Search the symbol table of a child process

Hi,

I am a newbie in Linux land, and I have a question about programming parent/child process interaction:

How do I search the value of a symbol in the child process? Is it possible?

I am doing a fork() and execve() to spawn any child possible, and I need something on the parent side to give me the value of any given symbol in the child, ie. "main".

In AmigaOS (my home country) this is very simple. Maybe there is a reason for it not to be so simple in UNIX land?

Best /Alpha

You have to use an IPC (interprocess communication) mechanism, some listed here:

1. use a file
  2. use pipes
  3. use shared memory
  4. semaphores / mutexes

tldp.org link for IPC
6 Linux Interprocess Communications Documentation

Unless you are using shared memory, there is normally no direct access to memory-only objects by the parent into a child process memory. Debuggers may use kernel mode memory access to get around this restriction -- a security issue otherwise.

2 Likes

Thanks.

I still don't understand, though: If my child executes something like this:

int pid = fork();
if(pid == 0) {
    //where exactly do I set up the IPC? Before this point, I do not know any symbol values of 'processName', and after this point, I can no longer do any child specific symbol manipulation.
    execve(processName, 0, 0); //processName can be any process. Like 'ls'.
} else {
    //what to do here?
}

... where is the space, from where the child should conduct its part of the IPC? Can I somehow set up a handler function on the child side, or what exactly am I supposed to do?

Sorry, this is so alien to me, and probably I am trying something, that is not very 'Unix', because of my background in another operating system. Any help is very much appreciated.

Where you set up IPC depends on which one you select. If you were to read the link, you would see a pipe example like this (from forgeeks.org):

// C program to demonstrate use of fork() and pipe()