Search string between the strings

File name : Sample.txt

<ownername>Oracle< ownername>

I am new to unix world , i would like to search string and return back to another sh script.

bascially i want to read file Sample.txt find the string between <ownername> Sample.txt < ownername> .
Gerneric way to find the string between <>x<>.Could you please help me to get the code for the same.

Output should be : Oracle

Best Regards,
Baaaalaaaa

grep '<ownername>[^<]*Sample.txt[^<]*</ownername>'

Narrative: grep for the tag and then some characters not < and then the string and then more not < and then the closing tag.

grep can find the lines with string in tags, but sed can dig out the string. This assumes one per line:

sed '
  s/.*<ownername>\([^<]*\)<\/ownername>.*/\1/
  t
  d
 '

Narrative: select in every line with a regex that captures the whole line but a substring captures the string between tags, and replace the whole line with that substring. If the replacement occurs, branch to end of script (print and go to next line) else delete line.

I like sed because the bits and pieces are reusable in sed, vi, ex, ed, grep, egrep, ksh command line editing, C, JAVA, PERL, awk.

Hi
Thank you so much for your help.Actually i have missed out few items.

Input File name : Sample.txt

line 1
<schema>database<schema>
line 2
line 3
line 4
<schema>Oracle<schema>
line 5

Actually i would like to read <schema>database<schema>string from input file and return only once database as my output.

output : database

Sorry to bother you , Please guide me for the same.
Thanks in advance

Baaalaaa

---------- Post updated at 11:17 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:01 PM ----------

Just executed this script in unix command prompt grep '<ownername>[^<]*test.txt[^<]*</ownername>'

i didnt get any output but i press ctr c to come out;