Search files between date ranges - Ctime usage

Hello,
I am a noob and need some help.
I am trying to find files created between a date range.

For Example:
These are files in directory.

-rw-r--r--    1 user staff             6 May  8 09:43 file1.txt
-rw-r--r--    1 user staff             6 May  8 09:43 file2.txt
-rw-r--r--    1 user staff             6 May  8 15:52 file3.txt
-rw-r--r--    1 user staff             6 May  8 15:52 file4.txt

sysdate: 05/12/2017 11:50 AM
I need all the files that got created on 05/08/2017 (irrespective of what time they got created on that date).
I am using below code

find . -ctime +4 -ctime -5

and this gives me only files file1 and file2.

My requirement is to get all 4 files in this case.
Appreciate your help.

Maybe

LC_ALL=C ls -lo |
while read x x x x month day x file
do
  if [ "$month" = "May" ] && [ "$day" = "8" ]
  then
    printf "%s\n" "$file"
  fi
done

You have a few issues that keep you from reaching your goal:

1. Most filesystems do not keep track of when a file was created; the struct stat st_ctime field stores the timestamp of the last file status change. A file's status changes when a file is created, when a file's size changes (by truncating the contents of the file or by writing data to a position greater than the file's current size), or by changing the file's mode or access permissions.
  2. The find -ctime primary doesn't work on calendar dates; it works on multiple of 24 hours from the time you invoke find .

To find files whose last file contents modification time occurs on a given calendar date (or other period of time unrelated to when you invoke find ), use touch to create one file with timestamps corresponding to the start time of your desired time period ( startTimeFile in this example) and create another file with timestamps corresponding to the end time of your desired time period ( endTimeFile ) and then use:

find . -newer startTimeFile ! -newer endTimeFile
1 Like