Script to move the first line of a file to the end

I'm rather new to scripting, and despite my attempts at finding/writing a script to do what I need, I have not yet been successful.

I have a file named "list.txt" of arbitrary length with contents in the following format:

/home/user/Music/file1.mp3
/home/user/Music/file2.mp3
/home/user/Music/file3.mp3
/home/user/Music/file5.txt
/home/user/Music/file7.wav
/home/user/Music/file11.ogg
/home/user/Music/file13.m4a

I would like a script that will change the contents of "list.txt" to:

Basically, I need the first line moved to the end. I don't care whether it's in bash, awk, sed, perl, or whatever scripting language as long as it works.

What is your attempt - you should show that first ?

Here is a sample

awk '{ if ( NR == 1 ) { store=$0 } else { print } }END{ print store }' filename

using Perl:

# first_to_last.pl
my $file = shift;
open(FH, '<', $file)  or  die "Failed to read file $file : $! \n";
my $first_line      = <FH>;
my @remaining_lines = <FH>;
close(FH);

open(FH, '>', $file)  or  die "Failed to write file $file : $! \n";
print FH @remaining_lines;
print FH $first_line;
close(FH);

run this script as:

perl first_to_last.pl list.txt

Why do you want to load the entire file into memory ( almost entire except for the first line ). Won't that be enough to store the first line and print the rest as and when its being read?

awk 'NR==1{store=$0;next}1;END{print store}' file

Thanks. That works exactly as I need it to.

That does what I need it to, but it outputs the results to the console, whereas I need it to output it back to the file. I tried setting it equal to a variable and outputting that to a file, but that output the contents of the file separated by spaces rather than line breaks.

Here's what I tried:

#!/bin/bash
var=`awk 'NR==1{store=$0;next}1;END{print store}' list.txt`
echo $var > list.txt
$ cat ./list.txt
$ ./first_to_last.sh
$ cat ./list.txt
2 3 4 5 6 1
{
  IFS= read -r line
  cat