SCP fails sometimes

Hi,

I got a unix script which copies a file from my AIX machine to a file server using SCP command. I am calling this script 3 times in my process after a time interval say 5mins. My issue here is like most of the time its not sending the file at the first time run while other 2 will work fine. I have found that the files are getting created, only issue is with the SCP.

I tried scp -v (verbose mode) and redirected to a log file. But its not writing anything to the logfile if it doesnt copy the file.

Can anyone put some light on this issue.

Thanks
Vipin C

Are the two machines on the same subnet or connected via routers?

Try doing a "ssh remotehost uname" or similar prior to the first "scp" just to confirm that the ARP tables are up to date.

Hi Porter,

Can you explain a little bit more. Because I am completely new to this networking scenarios evenif i hav worked with some small unix scripts. And what is this 'uname' stands for?

thanks in advance,
Vipin C

The 'uname' thing is purely something to run on the remote host so that you know you were able to talk to it. It could be *any* simple command that takes no stdin and executes quickly.

The problem I am trying to solve is you say that the 2nd scp works but not the first, this may be because the client has not managed to establish a network path to the remote server, hence running a command prior to confirm we do have connectivity with the remote host prior to doing the "scp" transfers.

As porter suggested, first get the connectivity through. Once that is done and still it does not work try to see if the ssh/scp processes get hung up somehow(I have seen that happen on Solaris). Check for the ssh version on your box and probably a patch for that version might fix the problem.
Also, first try to scp/ssh to that machine from the command line. Btw, is this a password based or key based authentication? Also, what "process" are you using to scp/ssh to the other machine?