SCO unix backup woes

Hello all,
I'm still a novice at unix and SCO Openserver 5.0.5, however I have a couple years experience with Irix, a handful of linux distro's and Solaris 9....
Regardless, I have two identical RAID arrays, one of which runs SCO openserver 5.0.5, and the other which is completely blank.
I am trying to use a tape backup of our first server to mirror the contents to the second, separate, RAID array.
I can create the SCO rescue disks, but upon attempting to un-tar the backup it attempts to write to the RAM drive.
I've already partitioned the second array identically to the first, but like I said, I'm new to this, and can't figure it out.
I'm sure there's some small hurdle that I just can't visualize and need to surmount.
Questions, Comments, Help and Slander welcome...

• Joe

I take it this is a separate pc?

Tar doesn't work quite well when backing up system files, so use cpio instead.

Try the following:

Boot the new system with the rescue disks, set up the partitions.

On the origanal pc insert a blank tape and type:

find "/stand" -depth -print -mount | /bin/cpio -ovcB -O /dev/(tape device)

then copy the / filesystem using a separate tape using the same command as above substituting the / for the /stand.

Once the stand filesystem is copied onto the tape, place in the new PC and type:

mkdir stand <enter>
chmod 777 stand <enter>
mount /dev/boot /stand <enter>
cd stand <enter>
cpio -iudvcmB -I /dev/(tape device)
unmount the /stand filesystem

Place the / filesystem tape into the new pc and type the following:

mount /dev/hd0root /mnt <enter>
cd /mnt <enter>
cpio -icvudA -I /dev/(tape device)
unmount the /mnt filesystem when tape is done

this will put the / filesystem on the hard drive.

Type the following to set up the new hd boot sequence:

/bin/dparam -w <enter>
dd if=/etc/hdboot0 of=/dev/hd0a <enter> (this is the default hd value, if your hd is different then change this parameter)