samba for solaris 9 help!!

I'm trying to install samba-3.0.0, I downloaded it from samba.org. After extracting the tarball i cd into source and typed ./congifure and it's responding back like:

checking for gcc... no
checking for cc... no
checking for cc... no
checking for cl... no
configure: error: no acceptable C Compiler found in $PATH

I su to root and still does same thing. I'm new to Solaris and still learning. I am currently trying to install samba on Solaris 9 x86 platform. Any input about this problem would be greatly appreciated.

If I added a new thread and another similar question was already posted I apologized, I searched with keywords samba and installing samba but the threads about it was locked, and the previous answer didn't really answer my question.

--
N0C

well, it seems that you don't have installed any Compiler. Look at www.sunfreeware.com and you will find a precompiled gcc package for your solaris...
when you have installed a compiler yet, you have to set the direcory to your $PATH..
# find / -name gcc -print
/usr/local/bin/gcc
# PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/bin/

greetings Pre�y

Solaris 9 does not come with a compiler by default - you have to install your own.

The above suggestion is right on. I've used the gcc from sunfreeware.com before. It is the easiest way to get a complier for a Sol 9 system.

Do I have to download and install "MAKE" from www.gnu.org also? Or does Solaris already provide that with the installation?

You should have a copy of make in /usr/ccs/bin/make. I believe you do not need to download make unless for some reason you prefer the gnu version to what comes with the OS.

Check www.sunfreeware.com if they have a precompiled samba in solaris pkg format.

If not go download gcc and gmake from www.sunfreeware.com and install them

make sure / usr/local/bin/ is in your path (u may also need /usr/ccs/bin in you path. Make sure you put it after /usr/local/bin so you dont use the make in there but the gmake in /usr/local/bin/)