Running script that sends an html formatted email fails when its run as cronjob

Hi

Im very new at working with unix and this problem I simply can not understand. I know there are a lot of threads about problems with shell scripts behaving differently when run from a terminal and from a cronjob. I have tried everything(almost) but I still havent cracked this problem.

Im working with typo3 and an extension called aux_newsmailer. The extension, when working properly, is suppose to send out newsletter automatically to users. Either formatted as plain text or html. My problem is that the extension has a backend userface where you manually can send the newsletters which works. Also, running the mailer script from a terminal works fine. When I, however, tries to run the script from a cronjob the html mails are somehow not received by all users and those mails that does are not formatted correctly, images are missing and links are not formatted the right way.

I have concluded that the error has something to do with the sending/formatting process but thats all I know.

Has anyone any idea what might be the problem?

/Nightowl

The usual problem when a cron job script doesn't work, but the script works from the command line is that the environment is different. Usually, the PATH must be defined in the script.

If the problem is not the PATH, check other variables that the script depends on.

Ok, I have been around this before and the environment is quite different, though, Im not sure which variables the script depends on or how to change the variables like PATH. How is this done?

I have tried to type:
PATH=/root/bin etc, but this returns an error

Can you help?

What is the error that u r getting?

PS:U can place 2>error.log in ur cron script to get the error messages logged to a file.

Read the script and see what variables it uses but does not set.

Where did you type it?

What, exactly, did you type?

What is the error?