root access

Hello

I have a question.

I have a box with Aix 5.3 but I want to disable root access direct from any terminal or console. I mean If I want to login to 10.10.10.10

login:root
password *********

Root access is not permited

Which file I have to edit. to the users first login with their own user and then su - to switch to root.

Thanks for your comments

# chuser rlogin=false login=false root

In case server is located in a locked room I'd leave local root login enabled.

Hi,

I'm an inexperienced Aix admin so i was wondering is this a good idea to totally stop root access? Is it ok just to leave it so you can only su to root ? I can see the benefits, but just wondered if it would cause any problems?

Also do you need to have the CDE running? or stop that as well so that there is no console? only say ssh access?

This paper will give you a concise load of information about AIX security: http://packetstorm.syrex.com/papers/unix/AIX_Security.pdf

CDE costs you performance. Don't use it if you don't have to.

That depends on what you want to achieve: usually the direct root access is forbidden to force admins to use "su" or some "sudoed" variant of it. The reason is that this event (someone issuing "su" to become root) is traceable and therefore auditable. If, say, ten people are logged in as root and someone does something really stupid you can't determine who that was from machine logs. By the way: "auditable" doesn't mean "more secure". "Auditable" means you can blame someone - after having done something really stupid. :wink: