replacing field in specific line in a file

Hi,

I know there are lots of threads on replacing text within files, usually using sed or awk. However, I find it hard to adapt examples that I found to my specific case. I am kind of new to UNIX and have hard times learning the syntax either for sed or awk so I would appreciate any help. Here's what I want to do:

I have a file containing user information

PIN000:FirstName.LastName:AccountNumber:Balance

I use cut to retreive Balance and place it into a variable and do calculations with it, but I don't know how to replace the Balance in the file above with new Balance that I get.

For example,
withdrawsum=number
Balance=&(($Balance - $withdrawsum))

then I want to replace the Balance part of the file so that when I exit the script, the changes remain and the next time I try to read Balance from the user file, I get the changed one.

For example,

user file:

PIN123:John.Smith:10203040:1000

so the Balance=1000

lets say that

withdrawsum=10

So once I've done the subtraction from the balance,

Balance=$(($Balance - $withdrawsum))

I want the new balance to be overwritten in the old balance place, so the file would look like this:

PIN123:John.Smith:10203040:980

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for your help.

The problem is that file I/O has no "insert" operation: If the new data is a different length than the old you need to rewrite everything after the change.

There's way better, faster, and simpler ways than the 'cut' utility to read fields from a data file, but it's difficult to help without seeing the rest of your program. It'd also tell me what other fields from that line you have, since just knowing the balance isn't enough to find and edit that exact line...

1 Like