replace a string with contents of a txt file containing multiple lines of strings

Hello everyone,

ive been trying to replace a string "kw01" in an xml file with the contents of a txt file having multiple lines. im a unix newbie and all the sed combinations i tried resulted to being garbled. Below is the contents of the txt file:

RAISEDATTIME
--------------------
DESCRIPTION
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
18-APR-2011 06:20:32
Fatal error in Application GATE:
<Error code: 68
Caught by: CTCS_BatchSchedulerBO.HandleException
Raise by: CTCS_FTOServerBTM.ValidateMessageCount()
Message: For Interface: FTO:1315001 in File : 190107079531.txt
File Message Count Mismatch. File reported count: 447 actual message count 797.>

Is there a possible way to replace the string "kw01" with the txt file contents above?? please help! :frowning:

awk '/kw01/{system("cat file.txt");next}1' file.xml > newfile.xml

sir i tried the code above. It gave me this error:

bash-2.05$ awk '/kw01/{system("cat file.txt");next}1' template.xml > test.xml
awk: syntax error near line 1
awk: bailing out near line 1

what could be wrong? Thank you so much!

Use nawk or /usr/xpg4/bin/awk on Solaris.

As this is an XML file, I'm not sure one can assume that the text 'kw01' is going to appear on a line by itself. You are, after all, replacing the entire line with the contents of the file.

Consider the following pseudo input:

<xml>
<myfile><contents>kw01</contents></myfile>
</xml>

It would be better to get AWK to replace just the text 'kw01' and not any surrounding characters. This can be achieved as follows, assuming the text file is called 'kw01.txt':