Replace a number in the last line of a delimited file.

Hi all,

I am fairly new to UNIX and I was wondering if you could provide me with some help! Lets say i have a file as below :

Line 1  
Line 2 
Line 3 
ABC|12|4|2

Now the number 4 in bold, this number will represent the number of row there is in the file excluding the header and footer so the result should be 2.

So what i want to do it to write a code that counts the number of rows in the file in this case 4, minus it by 2 (because excluding header and footer), go to the last line, replace the third value seperated by the delimiter and save the file.

Currently i am running the code below:

awk 'BEGIN{FS=OFS="|"} END{$3=NR-2;print};1' $1

This is the output it get after running the code:

Line 1  
Line 2 
Line 3 
ABC|12|4|2
ABC|12|2|2

My desired output is :

Line 1  
Line 2 
Line 3 
ABC|12|2|2

then save it.

can someone help me please ? Hope that all makes sense.

If, as shown in your example, only the trailer line contains pipe symbols; try:

awk '{BEGIN{FS=OFS="|"}NF==4{$3=NR-2}1' "$1"

Otherwise, try:

awk 'BEGIN{FS=OFS="|"}NR>1{print last}{last=$0}END{$3=NR-2;print}' "$1"
1 Like

Thanks Don i used the second code and it worked perfectly!

Hi so now i have another requirement.

Say i have a variable

ABC=CHICKEN
Line 1  
Line 2 
Line 3 
ABC|12|4|2
ABC|12|2|BOO

I want to replace Boo with chicken.

awk 'BEGIN{FS=OFS="|"}NR>1{print last}{last=$0}END{$3=$ABC;print}' "$1"

I have been trying it out like this but it doesn't work is there a way i can replace BOO with CHICKEN

awk 'NR>1{print last}{last=$0}END{$NF=ABC; print $0}' ABC="$ABC" FS="|" OFS="|" "$1"
1 Like

Your requirements are not at all clear:

• Saying: "I want to replace Boo with chicken." is strange since "Boo" does not appear anywhere in your sample input and "chicken" is not what is stored in your variable. In BSD-, Linux-, and UNIX-systems strings, variable assignments, filenames, and almost everything else is case sensitive.