Renaming a file according to the name of another for multiple instances

Hi there,

I recently completed an analysis using an array job in SLURM that left me with 279 files that bear the following name: sample_sorted.bam.

These files are all in separate folders, which contain the original BAM file aligned to the reference bearing the actual sample name. What I would like to do, if possible, is to get the name of that original BAM file and parse it before the _sorted.bam instead of the sample string.

See the example below, this is how the tree -h structure for the various folders looks like

sgdp_001
├── [  89G]  abh100.bam
├── [  69G]  sample_sorted.bam
├── [  36G]  R1.fastq.gz
└── [  36G]  R2.fastq.gz

and what I'm trying to do is to have the file sample_sorted.bam renamed as abh100_sorted.bam. Is there a script that can do that iteratively over the 279 folders?

I'm quite new to working with such large amount of data and still experimenting with different options in other contexts but this is not as trivial for me. Let me know, thanks in advance!

P. S. the original BAMs in each folder have different names, although I'm not sure whether it helps

@overcraft , having read this a number of times .... :confused:

I presume you want :
for each of the 279-directories there are two .bam files
xxxxx.bam sample_sorted.bam
and you want to rename sample_sorted.bam to xxxxx_sorted.bam where xxxxx is the varying component of the filename.

Does the xxxxx have a structure ? like AAA999 .bam
where AAA is any 3letters and 999 is any 3 numbers ?
btw, is this related to your previous post -
Moving files from folder to folders efficiently
?

working on the basis of your last post regarding moving files effectively

something along the following ....

NB: remove the echo in front of the mv ... if/when satisfied this fits your needs

#!/bin/bash

for dir in sgdb_???;
do
        cd "$dir" 
        bambam=$(echo ??????.bam) #assumes filename in  AAA999.bam format