Remove trailing space from file and folder names

I have a folder that contains many sub folders and files. This tree has to be backed up to an archive system. According to the tech support, one of the archives is failing to back up due to the possibility of trailing spaces on file and folder names. Therefore, I would like to have a script parse through this directory tree and remove trailing spaces from file and folder names. I would like to avoid replacing spaces with underscores and I would like to avoid removing spaces from the middle of the names.

For example, I have many folders that might be named something like this:

12345 Company Name

So assuming the above folder had a trailing space, I would want to remove JUST the trailing space.

Can I get some assistance with a script that could do that?

Thanks!

Can you please tell us what you have attempted so far?

I'm a mediocre script writer so the only thing I've managed to do so far is use a script I found that replaces all spaces with underscores. So my example folder I listed above ends up looking like this:

12345_Company_Name_

I managed to get that script to remove ALL spaces and change the name to this:

12345CompanyName

But I don't want that either.

Please use code tags as required by forum rules!

Not sure I understand what you are asking for. A listing of files in a directory with trailing spaces removed? One or many spaces? A script to rename all those files? In subdirectories as well? How far need the required assistance go?

Hint: you can get quite far using bash 's parameter expansion (here: Remove matching prefix/suffix pattern):

FN="12345 Company Name          "

echo ">${FN%${FN##*[^ ]}}<"
>12345 Company Name<

echo mv \""$FN"\" \"${FN%${FN##*[^ ]}}\"
mv "12345 Company Name          " "12345 Company Name"

RudiC, thank you for the response. My apologies for forgetting the code. Didn't think it was necessary for just folder name examples.