remove blank lines and merge lines in shell

Hi,

I'm not a expert in shell programming, so i've come here to take help from u gurus.

I'm trying to tailor a csv file that i got to make it work for the LOAD FROM command.

I've a datatable csv of the below format -

--in file format

xx,xx,xx   ,xx , ,  , ,  ,,xx,
xxxx,, ,, xxx,

yyy,yy,yy, , , ,yyy,yy,
yyy,yy,,,

--our file format

xx,xx,xx   ,xx , ,  , ,  ,,xx,xxxx,, ,, xxx,
yyy,yy,yy, , , ,yyy,yy,yyy,yy,,,

As you can see above, each row of record is seperated by a line gap and also a row record is split into multiple lines. I've to make it in a format as shown below so that i can insert them into my informix db.

So i'm trying acheive two things here

1. Remove blank lines
  2. Collide a data row splitted across multiple lines into one(by using the blank line as the end of a record)

Many Thanks!

awk '{printf NF?$0:"\n"}'
1 Like

Try this:

awk '$1=$1' RS=  infile > outfile

This really works good, but i cudnt exactly understand the logic behind it. I'm aware NF is for no. of fields in each line and \n is for newline.

But i cudnt understand the whole logic, if u cud explain me, that be really helpful for me to make changes to this in future.

Grateful to your comments.

Many Thanks!

---------- Post updated at 11:36 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:31 PM ----------

Thanks for all ur comments. It works weel and good.

I just need another help here.

I need to add a extra delimiter at end of each line. I'll go with the same ex that i posted above.

-in format
xx,xx,xx ,xx , , , , ,,xx,xxxx,
xxxx,, ,, xxx,,

yyy,yy,yy, , , ,yyy,yy,,
yyy,yy,,,yyyyy,

How about this:

awk  'BEGIN { RS="" ; FS="\n" ; OFS="," } { print $1, $2 }' < csvrec.csv > out.csv

That works by

• Splitting records based on blank lines (RS="")
  • Using the newline as the field separator, so $1 is line 1 and $2 is line 2
  • Using "," as the output field separator, so it adds an "," between the two when you print a,b